Museum logo

Object Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Title Astronauts Memorial 1991 Corporate Award to Delta
Date 1991
Collection Whit Hawkins Collection
Object Name Plaque
Catalog Number 2017.140.154
Description Polished black granite stone square. Top is printed with light gray logo of Astronauts Memorial Foundation and text "The Astronauts Memorial / 1991 Corporate Award / Those We Honor / Charles A. Bassett II, Manley "Sonny" Carter, Roger B. Chaffee, Theodore C. Freeman, Virgil "Gus" Grissom, Gregory B. Jarvis, S. Christa McAuliffe, Ronald E. McNair, Ellison S. Onizuka, Judith A. Resnik, Francis "Dick" Scobee, Elliot M. See, Jr., Michael J. Smith, Edward H. White II, Clifton C. Williams" Front side has a silvertone metal plate printed: "DELTA AIR LINES"
Artist/Maker United Trophy Mfg., Casselberry, FL
Depth (in) 5
Height (in) 1.5
Width (in) 5
Provenance Owned by Whit Hawkins.

Delta was a corporate sponsor of the Astronauts Memorial Foundation's Space Mirror Memorial at the Kennedy Space Center in Florida. Dedicated in 1991 by Vice President Dan Quayle, the Space Mirror was designated a national memorial by Congress and President George Bush.
People Hawkins, W. Whitley "Whit," 1931-2017
Search Terms Delta Air Lines
Astronauts Memorial Foundation
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
South (U.S.)
Subjects Astronauts